Bugeja Named 2015 Scripps Howard Administrator of the Year


Professor Michael Bugeja won the Scripps Howard Administrator of the Year Award, one of the highest honors in journalism education. Those who shared comments about his contributions in the nominating letter included Gov. Terry Branstad, Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds, Iowa Board of Regents Executive Director Robert Donley, Former Regents President Craig Lang, ISU President Steven Leath, ISU Provost Jonathan Wickert, Ohio University President Emeritus Bob Glidden, Northern Iowa President Emeritus Ben Allen, and University of Illinois Distinguished Professor Clifford Christians.

Bugeja will be honored at the keynote session of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication convention in Minneapolis, Aug. 4. Last year the Greenlee School also won the 2014 ACEJMC Diversity Award. Bugeja is proud that the School has won the two highest honors in consecutive years and credits the faculty, staff, corporate benefactors and generous alumni for helping create a top journalism and mass communication program at Iowa State University.