Iowa State Daily’s Barske wins Iowa College Media Association’s ‘Journalist of the Year’


Emily Barske, editor of the Iowa State Daily, was chosen ICMA’s Journalist of the Year last week amid a flurry of awards associated with Iowa State journalism.

Three finalists were selected and interviewed on Thursday for the top student honor, with Barske named the winner later that evening. Last year Barske was named a Columbia School of Journalism fellow in a competitive process that included five top journalism students in the country.

The Daily, named the top student newspaper in the country last year by the Society of Professional Journalists, also won the ICMA First Amendment Honor for work on Voices last Spring. The award-winning project focused on inclusion and identity at Iowa State.

Other awards came Friday at the Iowa Newspaper Association banquet in competition with other professional city dailies in the state:

· Best Sports Columnist First Place – Max Dible

· Best Video Second Place – Emily Blobaum

· Best Community Leadership Second Place – Voices

· Best Special Section Third Place – The Iowa State Way

Michael Bugeja, director of the Greenlee School, praised Barske and the independent student-run Daily for fact-based journalism focused on community and campus issues. “Emily Barske and others winning awards last week showcase the quality of instruction at the Greenlee School.”