Greenlee student awarded Washington Media Fellows Scholarship

CATEGORIES: News, Students
(Christopher Gannon/Iowa State University)

The Washington Media Scholars Foundation announced Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication senior in public relations Emma McDowell as a spring 2022 Media Fellow. The scholarship supports students whose academic interests are at the intersection of advertising and public policy.

“The Washington Media Scholars Foundation serves to identify talented students throughout the country who may be interested in careers in political or governmental communication. Over the years, the foundation has worked with multiple Greenlee students, awarding scholarships and providing opportunities for Greenlee students to compete on the national stage. It’s no surprise that they found Emma McDowell, a Greenlee student with extensive public relations and social media skills,” said Greenlee associate director and professor Jay Newell.

McDowell completed several internships focused on nonprofit work and hopes to pursue a career in nonprofit communications. She enjoys creating fun and engaging content to support various missions.

“I’ve had many impactful moments while interning at nonprofits like LifeServe Blood Center and Able Up Iowa,” McDowell said. “It’s important to me that I find an organization that I believe in and want to support their mission.”

The Washington Media Scholar Foundation is an organization that provides opportunities for undergraduates to work on public policy issues, as well as meet professional leaders in the field. Previous scholarship recipients pursued an array of academic disciplines including advertising, business, communications and political science. The foundation has awarded over $1 million in scholarships to 500 students.

Applicants to the Media Fellows scholarship must be juniors or seniors in good academic standing.

Previous Greenlee students who have been named Media Fellows include: Emily Belloma (marketing and advertising, ’18) and Sojung (Leslie) Lee (advertising, ’18) as 2016 Media Fellows; Alexis Nicholson (advertising, ’15), a summer 2015 recipient; and Katlego Mogongwa (advertising, ’15), a summer 2013 recipient.