“EverGreenlee News” Earns Four Student Production Awards Nominations

CATEGORIES: In the News, News, Students

“EverGreenlee News,” a TV news magazine show produced by students at Iowa State University’s Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication, received on Tuesday four Student Production Awards nominations for outstanding achievement from the Upper Midwest Emmy® Foundation. Hosted by the Upper Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, a live ceremony will announce the 2024 Student Production Awards winners on Friday, April 5, at the Graduate Hotel Minneapolis.

The “EverGreenlee News” nominations in the college division are:

  1. “Punk Punditz,” videographer Colton Pestel (Arts & Entertainment/Cultural Affairs)
  2. “The Agriculture Show,” director Cael Sleezer; anchors Stacia Drey and Marijke Mendeszoon (Magazine Program)
  3. “Fall Sports Review,” director Matt Goss; anchor Cael Sleezer (Sports Program)
  4. Cael Sleezer, anchor/reporter/writer (Talent: News or Sports)


The awards honor college and high school TV and media production from the Upper Midwest Emmy® Region, which consists of 12 designated market areas in Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and western Wisconsin. Chenue Her, an anchor at WOI-TV in West Des Moines, will host the Student Production Awards ceremony.

The concept for “EverGreenlee News” was developed in the fall 2023 semester by assistant teaching professor and program advisor Tony Moton, who combined students in his Broadcast Media Production and Digital Storytelling classes to produce four 30-minute shows that each focused on exploring singular subjects such as agriculture, sports and music. In all, 19 students worked behind and in front of the camera to get the shows on the air, where they now appear on Cyclones.tv, Ames Public Access TV and YouTube.

“It’s a great honor to see Iowa State listed among the nominations,” Moton said. “The talent level of our students can be seen in the quality of the content in our shows. We definitely had challenges getting our productions going, but once the students really took ownership of the process, it was amazing to see everything come together. Very proud of them.”

In addition to the students headlining the Student Production nominations, “EverGreenlee News” contributors were: Norah Alkhashram (production), Madi Bierl (videography), Emma Bryan (videography), Maris Cameron (production), Ella Ehlers (production), Kate Henning (production), Madeline Judas (production), Blake Petersen (videography), Jordan Petersen (production), Christian Royston (videography), Anna Russell (videography), Melissa Ryan (videography), Zachary Tucker (production) and Sophie Winkelpleck (production). The shows were produced and recorded in the Digital Media Studio of Iowa State’s Student Innovation Center.

A complete list of Student Production Awards nominations for outstanding achievement from the Upper Midwest Emmy® Foundation can be found here:


The “EverGreenlee News” YouTube channel can be found here: